From Gillian’s Goodness.

I had never actually had couscous until I made this recipe. I thought it tasted great, but I’m not too sure about the texture. It’s definitely something different, and a little odd at first. But I will probably try cooking with it again. Maybe it’s just something I have to get used to.

Ingredients:
1 14.5 ou can diced tomatos, drain (keep the juice)
3/4 c uncooked couscous (plain)
1 T olive oil
Salt to taste
1/2 t oregano
1/8 t ground cloves
Good pinch of cayenne
1 T small capers, drained
Vegetable broth or water

Directions:
Take 1 cup of juice from the tomatos. If it doesn’t equal 1 cup, add vegetable broth or water to the juice (I used water).

In a medium saucepan, mix the juice, olive oil and oregano. Cover, set to medium high and bring to a boil.

Slowly mix in the couscous, stirring continuously, and then quickly add the salt, cloves and cayenne. Remove from heat, cover and let sit for 5 minutes.

Stir in the tomatos and capers and let sit for another 2-3 minutes, until tomatos are warm.

