So here’s the thing… unless you know, with 100% certainty, that someone is pregnant, YOU DON’T ASK THEM WHEN THEY ARE DUE!!

This happened to me a couple of years ago, when I was at my heaviest.  My weight all tends to go to my stomach, and I get a lovely little pouch.  Which apparently makes me look pregnant.  My response? “I’m just fat. Thanks for noticing.” Then I walked away.  I think/hope those women thought twice before asking that question of anyone else.

The reason I bring this up now is because someone told me today that it happened to her. And I’ve heard of this happening to many other women as well. And, it’s women who are asking. Really? How would you feel? You’d think another woman would know better than to point out that someone is gaining weight.

Why do you think it’s okay to just assume? People gain weight in different ways, and I can guarantee that none of us need you to point it out to us.  We know we’ve gained weight.  We don’t need to know you think we’re pregnant!

I also found it funny that, for me, and in the case of the woman today – the person doing the asking is in no way a close friend/acquaintance/etc.  These were women who happened to work in the same office, and that’s it. Not someone we would ever even discuss it with in the first place! So why do they think it’s even their business?

So… lesson of the day. If you don’t know she’s pregnant, DON’T ASK!

