Today was the most difficult day of my life.  Making the decision to let you go was agonizing.  But I know you are now pain, distress and discomfort free.

It hasn’t been long, but I miss you so much already.  The house isn’t the same without you.  Leaving you to drive home was more difficult than I could imagine. And walking into the house without you was heartbreaking. I look over and still expect to see you sitting in the doorway, watching me and waiting to see where I go next.

I remember the first day you came home.  You were my surprise from J, and I was so excited to see you!  You were this big ball of energy at 4 months old.  You wanted to play with your stuffed soccer ball right away. And after about a month, that ball was strewn throughout the house.  We learned quickly that stuffed toys were no match for your teeth. 🙂

I lost quite a few pair of shoes to those teeth that first year.  But it was worth it.

Then there was that tail.  You were equipped with a weapon of mass destruction! I have had many a bruise on my leg from the excited wagging of that tail.  And we’ve had many an item thrown from our coffee table as well. But I know that you were just so happy, you couldn’t control it. 🙂

You were so energetic, friendly and happy.  We always laugh about your energy during that first year.  You just didn’t know when to stop.  I remember how’d you run around the house, never slowing down, then, all of sudden, you’d just collapse and be asleep before your head touched the floor. 🙂

That energy stayed with you up until a few months ago, but you learned how to know when it was break time.  Although, I do recall many times where you were so tired that you could barely hold your eyes open, but you laid there forcing them open so that you wouldn’t miss a thing.  You always had to know what was going on.

Fetch was your favorite game.  We’ve spent hours outside with you, throwing your ball.  Getting that fence and giving you that freedom to run was the best thing we’ve ever done.

I think ice cubes were your favorite treat. I don’t know why we ever wasted our money on anything else! 😉 I loved throwing them in your water bucket outside, and you’d go ‘bobbing for ice cubes.’ You’d come up with your face soaked, but you kept going back until you go them all!

You will be greatly missed by Lyps, Brutus and Rella.  I know they all looked up to their big sis.  Who is Brutus going to attack now?  And whose ears can Lyps ‘clean’ for them?

I want you to know that J and I love you so much.  You were a huge part of our life for 6 years, and will remain in our hearts forever.

These past couple of months have been heart wrenching. I hope you know we did everything we could do to make you happy and comfortable.

I know you are happy where you are.  Your pain is gone, fur is grown back, and you have tons of playmates with you.

Say hi to Taz for us.  Let him know we are still thinking of him.

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

Rainbow Bridge Poem

We will meet again someday.  With love forever…

