I have to say I’m pretty happy with the workouts I’ve been getting in lately.  I’m especially happy that, not only did I run once, but I’m actually keeping up with it. 🙂  I wasn’t sure if I would.  Yes – I’ve only run about 5 or 6 times now.  So I realize it hasn’t been that long.  But, trust me, for me that’s an accomplishment.

I have been getting in my goal of 4 workouts a week.  Typically two classes and two running sessions.  This week, I also started playing in a soccer league.

Let me tell you -three years away from soccer is a loooong time.  I found that out the hard way on Monday evening.  It was rough, my touch was awful, and I was exhausted!  Jogging to running to walking to cutting to kicking to physical contact.  My body was not ready for it!

Unfortunately, with all of my various workouts, I’m having some knee problems.  It started when I began running.  I spoke with a physical trainer friend of ours who said it sounds like tendinitis.  It hurts just under my kneecap – most notably when running (of course), using stairs or standing after sitting for a while.

He recommended stretching my calves and hamstrings three times a day.  Apparently those muscles are tight (which they definitely are) and put added pressure in my tendons.  He also gave me some exercises to do to help strengthen my legs. Hopefully this all helps.  I’d hate to have to stop running when I really feel like I’m getting in the habit of it.

Speaking of exercising – I did gain .2 lbs in the weight-loss competition this week.  However, I have an excuse.  I think it’s a good one. 🙂  Everyone else weighed in for the first time last Monday, but, since I didn’t have a scale yet, I couldn’t weigh in until Friday.  Which means I only had the weekend before I had to weigh in again on Monday.

And I’m not good on weekends.  I didn’t do too awful food-wise.  But I like beer!  And that definitely hurts.  Plus, I’m lazy on weekends.  I just have no desire to get off my butt and workout.  So lazy plus beer = .2 lb weight gain.  I’m not too worried about it.  It’s only .2 lbs, after all.  I really think I’m gonna have a good number on Monday – even with the Fourth of July picnicking, etc.  And I’m going to try really hard to get myself to work out at least one out of the next three days off (maybe even two!?!).

