Wow, it’s been a while.  Sorry about that!  I was on vacation last week, so I’ll have to update you soon on how that went. 🙂

In the meantime, I saw this on another blog, and thought it could be fun.

10 Things You May Not Know About Me

  1. When I was younger, I’m thinking maybe 3rd grade, I played the violin for about a minute.  Really – I think I made it a couple of weeks before I quit.  I’m sure my family was thrilled that I was no longer torturing them with my practicing. 🙂
  2. I’d much rather hang out at home (or a friend’s home) with a bunch of friends then go to a bar.  At home you can talk, relax and not worrying about running into someone every time you move.  Plus – a case of beer is much cheaper than buying it at a bar. 🙂
  3. I love to be artistic and creative and give homemade gifts, but I seem to slide from one thing to another.  When I was younger I used to draw a lot, even taking some classes.  In college I took clay class, which I absolutely loved!  A few years ago I made some of my family a calendar out of wood – I designed it (J helped a bit with putting it together), I added in a place to put pictures, and used Adobe Illustrator to illustrate a picture for each of them.  Now I’ve been having fun with food, specifically with canning and jarred gifts. 🙂
  4. I used to be the person who burned chicken noodle soup – just when trying to heat it up!  And now I have a food blog and I’m actually a pretty decent cook.  Tell that to anyone in my family 10 years ago, and they would’ve thought you were crazy!
  5. I love corn on the cob, but I won’t eat it from a can or frozen (unless it’s just mixed into a dish).  It just doesn’t taste right to me unless it’s fresh from the cob!
  6. Conversely – I love green beans from a can, but I’m not a big fan of fresh.  I know, I’m strange. 🙂
  7. My first time out on a Par 3 golf course (and my first time every golfing), I was with my now husband (then boyfriend) and I got a hole-in-one.  🙂
  8. I’ve played soccer pretty much since I could walk.  I was on 3 different cup teams, and often played on more than one team at once.  I went on to play at Bethany College, and now try to find adult leagues whenever I can.  I went about 3 years without playing recently, and it was a really long absence.  The first game back was tough!
  9. When I was 16 I traveled to Sweden and Denmark to play soccer for a United States team that I had tried out for.  It was an amazing, unforgettable experience.  I was gone for 3 weeks without my family, and not knowing anyone.
  10. One of my biggest fears is that there will be a fire at our house when we’re not home, and the animals will be trapped inside.  I am constantly double-checking that things are turned off, unplugged, etc.  Quite a few times I’ve been in my car, then run back up to the bathroom because I had a sudden fear I’d left my straightener plugged in.  It never is, but I have to check!
