So… did anyone see January?  Seriously, the month just flew by! I can’t believe it’s already February 1.  But, since it is, I figure it’s a good time to do a 30 Things update.

Cooking
1. Cook with 3 foods that I’ve never cooked with before.
2. Conquer yeast! And begin making sandwich bread weekly.
I’m trying!  I can make other yeast breads, rolls, etc., but for some reason soft sandwich bread just doesn’t work for me.  The second rise just doesn’t happen.  Very frustrating.
3. Take a cooking class.
4. Make baklava.
5. Make homemade ice cream. (Got the KA attachment for Christmas so I’m all set.)
I’ve actually gone out and bought the ingredients I need, just haven’t had a chance to do it.  It’s a process!
6. Create an original recipe.

Finance
7. Pay off my credit card debt.
Working on it.
8. Build up our savings account to a month’s worth of pay.
Also working on it.

Marriage
9. Tell my husband I love him at least once a day.
Absolutely on track for this one. 🙂
10. Plan a ‘date day’ at least once a month.
We just had a ‘date day’ on Saturday, so that takes care of January!  Bowling and dinner. 🙂

Home
11. Organize all of our digital pictures, print and frame some and put others in albums.
12. Landscape our front hillside.
13. Start to go green.  Use reusable bags, hand towels instead of paper towels, etc.  Simple changes.

Self:
14. Workout regularly (3x per week) and get to my goal weight and size.
I’m trying.  Typically I’m at about 2x per week. Getting myself motivated to go can be difficult.
15. Work up to a 5-mile run when the weather gets nicer.
16. Figure out what I really want to do with my life.
I’ve started looking up Master’s degree programs.  There are some things which may cause a delay in actually beginning one, but I’d like to at least figure out what direction I want to take.
17. Find a job I love!
Still working on this one.
18. Learn to take things in stride and stress/worry less.
Hmmm… need to work harder here.
19. Write a letter to myself to open in 10 years.
20. Be a vegetarian for one week.
21. Anonymously help someone in need.

Activities
22. Go horseback riding.  This is something I’ve always wanted to do, but never had the opportunity.
23. Take a spontaneous road trip.
Well, I think this one may be sort of taken care of.  We’re heading to Niagara Falls, Canada this weekend, and just decided last week to go.  So that’s spontaneous, right?  I’m not sure if I can ever be that person who just picks up and goes… I’m a planner.
24. Learn to knit/crochet.
25. Volunteer for something I’m passionate about.
26. Go sleep-on-the-ground camping for a weekend. (We actually already have this planned.)
We’re doing this in June when we go to the Michigan Nascar race.  Hoping to make it something we do more often!
27. Go whitewater rafting.
28. Take a picture a day for a year and post it here.  Starting today! Take more pictures.
So I obviously suck at this and decided to change it to something a bit easier.  Other than pictures for my food blog, I very rarely take any.  So I think taking more pictures works.
29. Find a creative way to make money (sell on e-bay, etsy, etc.)
J and I have talked about this and are working on a plan.
30. Get a deep tissue massage.  I’ve always wanted one!

Well – I still have a lot to do, but I do have 11 months to do it.  So I’m think I’m on the right track. 🙂

