Nope, no goose, just duck!

This weekend I both ate and cooked duck for the first time.  This was also the first time that J ate duck, and I honestly thought that he’d take one bite and then heat up some leftovers.  He didn’t. 🙂

Since I’ve never cooked duck before, I went to my aunt S, who is an amazing cook, for a recipe.  This is what she sent:

Start with a 4-5lb duck.  Combine 2 t black pepper, 2 t salt, 1 t ground ginger, and 1/2 t 5-spice powder.  Sprinkle this mixture into the cavity of the duck and rub all over skin.

Skewer the neck skin to the back, and tuck the wings under the skin.  Then tie the legs to the tail.  Place the duck, breast side up, in a shallow roasting pan, preferably with rack.

Cook at 375 for about 1 hour, 40 minutes.  Dump grease from pan and cavity of duck often.  Mix 1/4 c honey and 2 T soy sauce.  Baste duck with honey soy mixture and cook duck another 15-20 minutes, basting often, until duck reaches 180 degrees in the thigh.

Let sit 10-15 minutes, carve and eat!

J and I both loved this!!  He even said he’d order duck next time we go out to a nice restaurant, and he’s definitely up for me making this again sometime.

My aunt also smoked a duck over the summer, so when the weather is nicer, I’m definitely going to give this a shot. Anyone else have any tried and true duck recipes?

