I knew this day was coming, but that doesn’t make it any easier.  You have been amazing this past year.  Through the chemo and blood work and almost weekly vet appointments, your little nub never stopped.  Thank you for fighting and giving us this extra year.  We cherished every moment we had with you.

398173_10151652135495134_1796004891_n

Most reading this probably know the story of the day we brought her home.  Funny now… not quite so much then (especially not for J).  🙂  You were this terrified little thing, but very quickly assigned me the role as protector.  It took over a month for you to begin to trust J, and much longer for you to begin to trust other men who came into our house.  But to think of you then, and compare with later in life, it’s amazing how much you changed.  You became an outgoing cuddle-bug.  If someone gave you love and pets, they were okay by you.

525640_10151652130755134_78901193_n

I’ll always remember the hours that we’ve spent cuddling on the couch, your love for all things pillow, and how you, over time, became the protector.  No one was allowed to mess with your Mia, or, later, your Ozzie.  And I don’t know how many pizza delivery people you probably terrified into never returning to our porch. 🙂

 

You were my baby.  I’m going to miss coming home every day to you running to the top of the stairs (knowing my routine) to greet me with your nub going 100 miles a minute.

And then there was your love of food.  It didn’t matter what it was, if it was edible, it was yours.  You knew when that treat drawer opened and would be at our feet in an instant. You loved your peanut butter, and your cream cheese.

As much as I’m going to miss you, I know it was time.  I’m so thankful that you are no longer suffering.  And I know you’re up there, reuniting with Mia, and waiting for the day that we can all be together again.

543177_10151652133410134_1752742019_n

I love you, pretty face.  I’m glad we could spend our last moments with you at home, where you felt the safest.

I’m sad that we couldn’t keep you with us for many more years, but you brought so much happiness and laughter to us in the time that we had you.  And I’ll never forget that.

‘Til we meet again.

 

