Yesterday I entered Week 7.  Week 6 sucked.  On Monday, morning sickness officially started.  Prior to that, I had some minor nausea, but nothing bad.

Monday morning it came on FULL force!  Driving to work in the morning is ROUGH.  I feel like I’m battling morning sickness and car sickness.  I told my boss this week.  I’ve come in every day looking and feeling like I have a massive hangover, so I’d rather her know I’m pregnant than think I’m out drinking every night or something.  Good news is she is very happy and excited for us.

I’m living on saltines.  I try to keep some food in my stomach at all times.  Easier said than done.  But I eat a few saltines in the morning before I even sit up in bed… it seems to help a little bit.

With the worst of the nausea in the morning, I do spend the entire day feeling nauseous… it’s minor, but it’s there.

In addition – I’m TIRED!  It doesn’t seem to matter how much or little sleep I get, I’m exhausted and I have zero energy.  I really want to work out, but I can’t seem to make myself move.  It’s been about 2 weeks since I’ve done anything.

But… I have lost about 4-5 lbs.  I’m thinking it’s a mix of morning sickness and no more beer.  I miss beer.

Speaking of beer… not telling family is soooo tough!  My sister and BIL keep asking us to do stuff with them.  We love hanging out with them, but we are always doing something where we are at least having a couple of drinks.  Me not drinking = weird.  Yesterday (Fourth of July) I was able to get away with the migraine excuse, but that’s not going to fly every time.  On our way home from the picnic at their house, we literally thought up different excuses to not hang out with people the next few weekends.  I feel bad doing that, but I’m just not ready for everyone to know.

I know in post 1 I said we were waiting til 12 weeks, which is really my ideal, but if we can at least get to week 10, I’ll be happy.  That gives us just 3 more weeks to go, and at least one more appointment to make sure everything is going as it should be.

J has been great so far. He’s been reading some books on pregnancy… both a good and bad thing. 🙂  Good because he’s getting a good idea of what I’m feeling and has been good about being careful of strong smells, etc.  But he quotes the book at me.  Sometimes I just want to smack him… out of love, of course. 😉  You shouldn’t eat that many carbs, eat some veggies, you need to make sure you’re eating 5-6 times a day, and on and on.  Sometimes he just means well… sometimes he’s just saying things because he thinks he’s funny.  But he is super excited about this baby (from now on to be known as ‘Murph’… don’t ask). 🙂  So that’s been great.

Speaking of Murph, we’ll find out again how he/she is doing at our next appointment on the 15th.  Apparently, this week Murph is the size of a blueberry!

blueberry

